Find Us

Structure of the Pakistan Army
The Structure of the Pakistan Army
can be broken down two ways, administrative, and operational. Operationally
the Pakistan Army is divided in 11 Corps having areas of responsibility
(AOR) from mountainous regions of northern Pakistan to the desert and
coastal regions of the south. Administratively it is divided in different
regiments (details below). The General Headquarter (GHQ) of Pakistan
Army is located in the garrison city of Rawalpindi in Punjab province.
It is planned to be moved to the capital city of Islamabad.

Army headquarters
and staff

The Chief of the Army Staff (COAS), formerly called the Commander in Chief (C in C),
is challenged with the responsibility of commanding the Pakistani
Army. The COAS operates from army headquarters in Rawalpindi, near
Islamabad. The Principal Staff Officers (PSO’s) assisting him in his
duties at the Lieutenant General level include:

  • Chief of General Staff (CGS)
  • Chief of Logistics Staff (CLS)
  • Inspector General Arms (IGA)
  • Adjutant General (AG)
  • Quarter-Master General (QMG)
  • Inspector General Training and
    Evaluation (IGT&E)
  • Military Secretary (MS)
  • Inspector General Communications
    and IT (IGC&IT)

The Military Operations
and Intelligence Directorates function under the Chief of General
Staff (CGS). A major reorganization in GHQ was done in September 2008
under General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani, when two new PSO positions were
introduced: the Inspector General Arms and the Inspector General Communications
and IT, thus raising the number of PSO’s to eight.

The headquarters
function also includes the Judge Advocate General (JAG), and the Comptroller
of Civilian Personnel, the Chief of the Corps of Engineers (E-in-C)
who is also head of Military Engineering Service (MES), all of them
also report to the Chief of the Army Staff.


Operational Structure


  • Corps:
    A Corps in the Pakistani Army usually consists of two or more Divisions
    and is commanded by a Lieutenant General. Currently the Pakistani
    Army has 11 Corps. The eleventh one is the recently raised Army
    Strategic Force Command (ASFC), responsible for bearing the national
    strategic and nuclear assets. Initially a Division, but then raised
    to the status of a Corps.

  • Division:
    Each division is commanded by a Major General, and usually holds three
    Brigades including infantry, artillery, engineers and communications
    units in addition to logistics (supply and service) support to sustain
    independent action. Except for the Divisions operating in the mountains,
    all the Divisions have at least one armoured unit, some have even
    more depending upon their functionality. The most major of all ground
    force combat formations is the infantry division. Such a division
    would primarily hold three infantry brigades. There are 19 Infantry
    divisions, two mechanised divisions, two Armoured Divisions and
    2 Artillery Divisions in the Pakistani Army.
  • Brigade:
    A Brigade is under the command of a Brigadier and comprises three or more
    Battalions of different units depending on its functionality. An
    independent brigade would be one that primarily consists of an artillery
    unit, an infantry unit, an armour unit and logistics to support
    its actions. Such a brigade is not part of any division and is under
    direct command of a corps.
  • Battalion:
    Each battalion is commanded by a Colonel and has roughly 600 to 900 soldiers
    under his command. This number varies depending on the functionality
    of the battalion. A battalion comprises either three batteries (in
    case of artillery and air defence regiments – generally named Papa,
    Quebec, Romeo, and Headquarters Battery) or four companies (in case
    of infantry regiments – generally named Alpha, Bravo, Charlie, and
    Delta – and other arms excluding armored units that are organized
    into squadrons) each under the command of a major and consisting
    of individual subunits called sections (which are further divisible
    into platoons and squads)